Who says I’ve got two left feet?

Nobody, actually. But it’s a silent truth I hate to admit, together with many other desperate dancers.

Recently I came across this blog whose author shares the same sentiment as I have. What’s amazing is that she has the ability to express into words those feelings I find hard to convey. Personal learning for the day from Aditi Mitra’s blog:

1. Your ability to dance does not depend on age.

“…if art itself does not come with a expiry date, then how can you decide the shelf-life of an artist?”

2. When you dance, you communicate.

“Words are a great support when you want to convey emotions, but what is truly admirable is when a dancer converses with his audience through his music and expressions…nothing else.”

3. Dancing is life.
“Dancing is the loftiest, the most moving, the most beautiful of the arts, because it is not mere translation or abstraction from life; it is life itself.”
                                                                                    —Havelock Ellis
Makes me more grateful to become part of the CCT Dance Troupe–even when at times I still feel I’ve got two left feet.
My first performance at CCT Tagaytay Retreat and Training Center
My first performance at CCT Tagaytay Retreat and Training Center
The CCT Dance Troupe members with CCT president Ate Ruth Callanta 😉

So what insight about dance can you share to me today? 🙂

8 thoughts on “Dancing with Two Left Feet

  1. I’ve never been a good dancer all my life. it’s one of my greatest frustrations in life. Well yeah I have danced in some school presentations but never gracefully like I wanted it to be. It’s a good thing you’re a part of a dance troupe. It’ll hone whatever dancing skills you may have. Unlike me, I’m a hopeless case when it comes to dancing. But I’m cool with that 😉

    1. Even when I AM part of a dance troupe, I still feel the frustration sometimes. But yeah, I’ll just keep practicing and who knows what. 😉 I guess the Lord has meant you to become someone greater than who you were to be should you pursue dancing. 🙂

  2. Hey dear, it was really very sweet of you to visit my blog and even mention it in yours. Am humbled and am absolutely sure you must’ve given a great performance!! All the best for the upcoming ones as well 🙂

SO WHAT DO YOU THINK? :)

